AUGUSTA COUNTY ELECTORAL BOARD

Minutes of Meeting [December 13, 2023 at 11:00]

[December 13, 2023 at 11.00]

Smith West Room, Augusta County Government Center

I. Call to Order:

The meeting was called to order at 11:01am. Present were: Chair; Dave Leatherwood, Vice Chair; Vic Ludlum, Secretary; Brenda vonSeldeneck, Director of Elections; Constance Evans, and Chief Deputy Registrar; Robin Moyer.

II. The Minutes:

The minutes of the last meeting were distributed by e-mail. Mr. Ludlum stated a few changes to be corrected on the minutes. Mr. Leatherwood made a motion that when the corrections are made, that the minutes be approved. Mr. Ludlum second the motion.

Voting Aye: Dave Leatherwood

Vic Ludlum

Brenda vonSeldeneck

III. Reports of EB Officers:

• Chairman: Nothing at this time.

Vice Chairman: Nothing at this time.

Secretary: Nothing at this time.

IV. Registrar's Report:

- Ms. Evans handed out a sheet with important dates for the year 2024 (through March)
- Ms. Evans has Posted for a Full Time Position and a Part Time Position in the Registrar's Office.

V. Unfinished Business:

- There was an open discussion of the November 7, 2023 election.
- The areas that worked well and ways to add to our active OE list were discussed.

VI. New Business:

- Mr. Dave Leatherwood will be leaving the Electoral Board the end of December 2023.
- We will welcome a new Board Member in January 2024.
- With a possibility of 3 elections events March Presidential Primary, a June Primary Election, and a November General Election, we will need to staff all three and increase training.
- Ms. Evans requested to order 50% of the voting ballots for each election, with the option to increase the order to 85%, if needed.
- Mr. Leatherwood moved to honor the request for the 50% ballots and increasing it to 85% if needed for the elections. Mr. Ludlum second the motion. Motion was approved.

Voting Aye: Dave Leatherwood

Vic Ludlum

Brenda vonSeldeneck

VII. Comments by the Public.

There was no public present.

VIII. Adjournment:

• With no further business, at 12:25, Mr. Leatherwood moved to adjourn the meeting. Mr. Ludlum second the motion, motion was approved.

Voting Aye: Dave Leatherwood

Vic Ludlum

Brenda vonSeldeneck

Respectfully submitted,

Brenda van Seldeneck

Brenda vonSeldeneck